What it means to be part of Hillside Digital and the Siyakhona Project

Posted: July 22, 2010 by Danny Lurie in HillsideDigital, Khayelitsha, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am from Khayelitsha township in Cape Town. Before Siyakhona, I was involved in performing arts like music, poetry and acting. I have attended workshops on women leadership programmes in townships in South Africa and Kenya.
Siyakhona has made an important impact on my life. On a stage I connected with my audience but with video I can reach further. I have also had the ability to tell the untold stories of Khayelitsha and reached both the people who are effected by the poverty as well as the individuals who think that Khayelitsha is dangerous community. Finally, the skills I have learnt here has changed the way I see the world, and the power of telling stories with a camera.
With my skills, I want to fight for women rights, bring cinema to the community and become a loud voice for my community and my people.

Leave a Reply

