‘Gracius, Obrigado’ to the world.

Posted: July 14, 2010 by warrenradebe in Alexandra, HillsideDigital, Sony
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Not long ago, South Africa celebrated their announcement to host the FIFA World Cup 2010. When the moment arrived every one from the township streets and urban brews prepared for the real moment when the world cup began in June. I was in my green t- Shirt for my country and ready for the world cup in Africa. Above all, I was preparing my equipment to capture the moment and report it to my community and the world. As a citizen journalist the journey for exciting stories ahead had begun and the chance to dramatically improve living conditions in my country.

Every step of the way as a journalist it demanded more experience from my training to become the best camera man for the event, and direct the production with my colleagues as a crew. I enjoyed working amongst world class media agents such as CNN, BBC, SuperSport and others. I was looking up to them as they were shooting from exclusive angles around the field and I was getting better at it with every moment of the day.

It was indeed an opportunity of a life time, when Danny recommended me and Tshepiso to meet the Chairman, Chief executive officer and President of Sony Corporation; Sir Howard Stringer, Joburg City Mayor Mr Masondo, Lucas Radebe; Ambasssador for Football for Hope and as a soccer legend, and others who were VIP`s. I was thinking it was an honor to meet him and relaying my passion for citizen journalism and Hillside Digital and how I want to make it a community voice.

I was delighted to show Mayor Masondo our films on the VIP flat screen television which had already been playing in the VIP room for several days. I know our work has been recognized and some where, some how, there is a hidden goodwill to save our work.

Probably you would want to know how you can be part of this programme, well, as we seek to influence social change through citizen journalism in impoverished communities like Alexandra, You can believe in our vision and be our ambassador, We request funding for the programme to continue influencing social change, and your support will change someone’s life through our mission. Please click on the Support Siyakhona tab to learn more.

I would like to honor the world and who celebrated with us the success of the world cup, not forgetting, FIFA organization, Sony, FIFA Organizing Committee South Africa, Football for Hope, Street Foot Ball World, Siyakhona and my community, Gracius, Obrigado to the world.

Leave a Reply

