Hillside is invited to the “Basketball meets Football” NBA event.

Posted: June 21, 2010 by Danny Lurie in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

by Warren Radebe

On the 19th June 2010, Herbert and I were amongst the invited media covering the unique event where “basketball meets Football” to coincide with the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The event was held at the Discovery Soccer Park, Wanderers Club in Illovo, Johannesburg.

I had a world class experience as a camera man, capturing the arrivals of the world renowned sports men from the NBA such as Steve Nash (Phoenix Suns born in Johannesburg South Africa), and Luc Mbah a Moute (Milwaukee Bucks, Cameroon) and the football for hope legends Patrick Viera (Ex- French National Team, Manchester City).

The experience would have been incomplete without my creativity, I had close-up shots with the Nelson Mandela and the Basket Ball children who had one on one soccer game with the stars. The significant context for the day was making sure that as a Video Journalist for Hillside Digital I form part of the world class media, and despite my six months training I would be able to capture high quality footage.

The most outstanding highlight was when I had to place my cam within the congestion of cameras rushing for a right angle and so I was able to be on right angles for an interview; in one moment I thought I was better than the most camera man who come from BBC and the CNN.

This becomes a training experience prior to the Football for Hope Tournament in Alexandra due to commence in July. I am sure I will be ready for the event and the world media will find me ready and as a best Camera Man.

Leave a Reply

