For the love of the Game.

Posted: June 21, 2010 by Danny Lurie in Alexandra, HillsideDigital
Tags: , , , , , ,

By Shirley Langley

Shirley gets to know her new sony hd cam

After the World Cup I hope and pray that it will leave a legacy in my township even if we didn’t get any fan parks for our people. We are feeling it, we’re happy about everything that is happening in other parts of the country. We live and love the game of football and follow it religiously. The world cup is in our backyard and we want to show the world what we’re made of. I am a video journalist with Hillside Digital and I live in the mother of all townships, Alexandra.

What I like about my township is the love that we have for the sport, we even love our own soccer games in Winter called MAP (Maimane Phiri) games. The games allow everyone to take part including girls and Alex legends. Maimane is one of our legends who still lives in Alex; he use to play for Five Special before moving into the big leagues.

We didn’t get a fan park to watch the games in Alex but there is something special happening here starting on July 4th. It’s a tournament that FIFA has brought us called the Football For Hope Festival. It will leave a legacy because the festival and all the games will bring the community together. I can’t wait to film all the games and show them to my community and you, the world.

As I said in my last blog I am proud to part of the Siyakhona project and Hillside Digital because this project is going to change the lives of our people in this township. Let us hope they support us in making the change in our community, because we are the voices that need to be heard by our government and our president.

I wish you all the best and hope you’re watching the world cup.

Comments

Leave a Reply

