All I’m saying is “Be like a postage stamp. Stick to it until you get there”. AYOBA!!!!!!!!

Posted: August 31, 2010 by Danny Lurie in HillsideDigital, Khayelitsha
Tags: , , , , , ,

By Hlomela MseseleHlomela Msesele

The 29th of July was a scary day for me as we were doing our film screening in one of the high schools in Mitchell’s plain and I had to stand in front of 400 learners. You know how high school learners are; I was also one of them.

The time other crew members were setting the screen I was not as nervous.  I knew what I was going to say and I was not scared but when the learners entered the hall I started shaking and getting nervous and I was the first one to stand up and present my story.

When I stood up all eyes were looking and listening to what I was going to say but I told myself, ‘you know that you can do this,’ and I did it. Short and sweet. It was nice to see other documentaries from other experienced film makers like sis Lungiswa who has been in the industry for a long time. He told me and the other Siyakhona members to believe and have faith in what we are doing and to, ‘be who you are’.

The other thing that worried me was the questions from the learners but I played it cool of course with the help of my team. What I noticed is the young don’t like to watch documentaries they like prefer action movies not knowing what a documentary is all about.

I also did not like it at first, I thought it was kind of a boring thing to watch but as I knew more about it I started to connect with it because it gives you self-respect, respect for other people’s cultures and its telling something that is true, something that you have experienced and you know of so I really had a good time at the school.

My message to the youth out there is try something new for a change, stop complaining about what you don’t have or have and never let anyone tell you that you can’t do it, just have faith and passion for what you doing. All I’m saying is “Be like a postage stamp. Stick to it until you get there”. AYOBA!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

